Archive

KunstGipfel - ArtSummit
To inaugurate the Kaolin Mining GeoPark, it was decided in 2000 to make ‘Monte Kaolino’, the white mountain at Hirschau, the setting for an unusual artistic event.
Twelve artists from Eastern Bavaria contributed works of art, music and lighting effects to the 1st ArtSummit. The site for this event was the wide plateau that forms the summit of Monte Kaolino, as well as the slopes of the mountain. Wolfgang Keuchl, a sculptor and painter, exhibited ‘A Nile Ship That Has Run Aground’, an old 6m-long iron ship; sculptor Toni Schaller constructed a wooden globe, 3 metres in diameter, and placed it on the edge of the plateau to make it look like a ball rolling downhill (‘Ball on the Precipice’). Ursula Merker, an artist who works with glass, constructed a 5m-high Noah’s Ark stranded on dry land, using concave and plane mirrors. (This exhibit is still on display nowadays.) Jörg Schemmann, another painter and sculptor, presented a ball, made of wood and six metres in diameter, with which music can be made. Painter and sculptor Paul Schinner exhibited an installation called ‘Distant View’, a 6m-high ‘ladder to heaven’ with 30 steps. This was intended to arouse expectations and promised an even better view. Light designer Klaus Zimmermann created an artificial summit for Monte Kaolino with three peaks in the primary colours, red, yellow and blue. His idea was that the 4m-tall artificial crystals would ‘complete’ the mountain.
On one side of Monte Kaolino, sculptor Helmut Langhammer created an installation ‘Traces Make Wings Grow’ or ‘The Flight of Icarus’, a 120m flight of steps made of black polythene sheeting. Theodor Sellner, another artist working with glass, built a ‘Wallband’, a staircase made of glass elements and a 7m-tall wooden scaffold with a balance beam, from which animals’ skulls made of glass broadcast ‘messages’ into the infinity of space. Raoul Kaufer, a painter and graphic artist, dyed a section of the plateau blue, thus creating a ‘Lake on Monte Kaolino’. Finally, artist and designer Wilhelm Koch created an enormous installation on the slopes of ‘Monte Kaolino’, using the letters of the word ‘ALSO’.
The musical accompaniment to the opening of the exhibition was provided by Hans Grobmaier’s group, the Chaolinos, and by the Allgäu Alphorn Players. Two camels – ships of the desert – were also to be seen on the quartz sands of Monte Kaolino that first evening. As darkness fell, Christian Havlicek used abstract light effects to transform the slopes into fantasy worlds that, seemingly irresistibly, inspired the spectators to walk up the side of the mountain, just like so many tiny ants.

Pictures

_

 

In the Valley of White Earth
Art in the Mine
An event entitled ‘Art in the Mine’ took place on July 30 - 31 at the Hirschau-West Pit which belongs to the Amberg Kaolin Works. It was another feature on the programme of events organised by the Hirschau-Schnaittenbach Kaolin Mine GeoPark. A natural 20-by-40m rockface in the pit functioned as a projection screen for a multi-slide performance by Wolfgang Michl and Adelbert Fust, and for light installations by Christian Havlicek, as well as for short films shown by the Regensburg Film Workshop. The evening ended with an art performance entitled ‘Firewater’, composed by Wilhelm Koch and Klaus Welz, with light installations and a musical accompaniment. They were assisted by the junior members of the Hirschau and Schnaittenbach fire brigades, who created fountains of water. The music for the event was played by Heinz Grobmeier with his ‘Kaolinos’, the Hirschau-Schnaittenbach Kaolin Band, and a brass band from Nová Role in the Czech Republic. In order to unite art and technology, pieces of mining equipment, such as excavators and dumper trucks,  were presented as illuminated ‘exhibits’ by the Amberg Kaolin Works. One day after the event, mining went on at the pit site just as usual.

Pictures

_

Archiv

KunstGipfel
Als Auftakt zum GeoPark Kaolinrevier galt es im Jahr 2000, den Monte Kaolino, den "Weißen Berg" in Hirschau, zum Austragungsort einer ungewöhnlichen Kunstaktion zu machen. 
12 Künstler aus Ostbayern gestalteten den 1. KunstGipfel mit Objekten, Klangwelten und Lichtinstallationen. Als Schauplatz dienten das ausladende Gipfelplateau und die Bergflanken. Der Bildhauer und Maler Wolfgang Keuchl stellte ein altes 6 Meter langes Eisenschiff als "Gestrandetes Schiff vom Nil" aus, der Bildhauer Toni Schaller baute eine Holzkugel von 3 Meter Durchmesser, an die Bergkante positioniert, um das visuelle Erleben eine hinunterrollenden Kugel zu erzeugen ("Kugel am Abgrund"). Die Glaskünstlerin Ursula Merker konstruierte aus  konkaven und planen Spiegeln die 5 Meter hohe gestrandete "Arche Noah" (heute noch zu besichtigen). Der Bildhauer und Maler Jörg Schemmann präsentierte eine bespielbare Klangkugel von zwei Meter Durchmesser aus Stahl. Der Bildhauer und Maler Paul Schinner zeigte die Installation "Weitblick", eine 6 Meter hohe "Himmelsleiter" mit 30 Stufen. Diese sollte die Erwartungen wecken und versprach eine noch bessere Aussicht. Der Lichtdesigner Klaus Zimmermann setzte mit drei Spitzen in den Grundfarben rot, gelb und blau den künstlichen Berg auf. Sie sollten mit künstlichen, vier Meter hohen Kristallen, den Berg "vollenden".

An einer Bergflanke gestaltete der Bildhauer Helmut Langhammer die Installation mit schwarzen Kunststoff-Folien eine 120 Meter lange Treppe "Spuren lassen Flügel wachsen" oder der "Flug des Ikarus". Der Glaskünstler Theodor Sellner baute ein "Wallband", ein Treppe aus Glasteilen und ein 7 Meter hohes hölzernes Gerüst mit Waagbalken, an dem skelettierte Tierköpfe aus Glas "Botschaften" in die Unendlichkeit des Raumes ausstrahlten. Der Grafiker und Maler Raoul Kaufer färbte einen Bereich des Plateaus mit blauer Farbe ein und so entstand ein "See auf dem Monte Kaolino". Schließlich entwarf der Künstler und Designer Wilhelm Koch eine plakative Schriftinstallation mit dem Wort "ALSO" an die Bergflanke.

Die Klangwelten von Heinz Grobmeier mit den Chaolinos und die Allgäuer Alphornbläser gestalteten die Eröffnungsveranstaltung, an der auch zwei Kamele - Wüstenschiffe im Quarzsand des Monte Kaolino - teilnahmen. Christian Havlicek verwandelte die Bergflanke bei Dunkelheit mit abstrakten Lichtinstallationen in phantastische Welten, die Zuschauer - klein wie Ameisen - wie in einem Sog anlockten, die Bergflanke hinauf zu laufen.

Bilder ansehen

 

_

Im Tal der weißen Erde
Kunst im Tagebau

In der Grube Hirschau-West der Amberger Kaolinwerke fand am 30. und 31. Juli 2004 die Veranstaltung "Kunst im Tagebau" statt. Dies war eine weitere Aktion im Programm des GeoParks Kaolinrevier. Als Projektionswand für  eine Multi-Dia-Performance von Wolfgang Michtl und Adelbert Fust und Lichtinstallationen von Christian Havlicek diente eine rohe Abbauwand von 20 mal 40 Metern, ebenso auch für Kurzfilme vom Arbeitskreis Film, Regensburg. Unter dem Titel "Feuerwasser" bildete eine Kunstperformance, komponiert von Wilhelm Koch und Klaus Welz, mit Lichtinstallationen und Tonuntermalung den Abschluss der Abende. Sie wurden von den Jungfeuerwehren aus Hirschau und Schnaittenbach mit Wasserfontänen unterstützt. Die musikalische Umrahmung besorgte Heinz Grobmeier mit den "Kaolinos", die Kaolinkapelle Hirschau - Schnaittenbach und eine Blasmusikgruppe aus Nová Role in Tschechien. Um Kunst und Technik zu vereinen, wurden Abbau- und Fördergeräte, wie Schaufelradbagger und Muldenkipper als beleuchtete "Exponate"der Amberger Kaolinwerke präsentiert. Einen Tag nach der Veranstaltung lief der Abbau in diesem Tagebau wie gewohnt weiter.  

Bilder ansehen

 

lin